Delete a data view
Elastic Cloud Serverless projects are autoscaled environments, fully managed by Elastic and available on Elastic Cloud. Availability This functionality is generally available and ready for production usage. Serverless interfaces and procedures might differ from classic Elastic Stack deployments. The Elastic Stack includes Elastic's core products such as Elasticsearch, Kibana, Logstash, and Beats. Availability This functionality is generally available and ready for production usage. Unless stated otherwise on the page, this functionality is available when your Elastic Stack is deployed on Elastic Cloud Hosted, Elastic Cloud Enterprise, Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes, and self-managed environments. This documentation corresponds to the latest patch available for each minor version. If you're not using the latest patch, check the release notes for changes.
Serverless
Generally available
Stack
Generally available
When you delete a data view, you can't recover its field formatters, runtime fields, source filters, or field popularity data. Deleting a data view doesn't remove any indices or data documents from Elasticsearch.
Deleting a data view breaks all visualizations, saved Discover sessions, and other saved objects that reference it.
You need a role with the Data View Management Kibana privilege and the view_index_metadata Elasticsearch privilege. Refer to Defining roles.
The Elastic Stack includes Elastic's core products such as Elasticsearch, Kibana, Logstash, and Beats. Availability Generally available since 9.4 This functionality is generally available and ready for production usage. Unless stated otherwise on the page, this functionality is available when your Elastic Stack is deployed on Elastic Cloud Hosted, Elastic Cloud Enterprise, Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes, and self-managed environments. This documentation corresponds to the latest patch available for each minor version. If you're not using the latest patch, check the release notes for changes. You can't delete managed data views. On the Data Views management page, the delete action isn't available for these data views, and they can't be selected for bulk deletion. To use a modified version of a managed data view, duplicate it instead.
- Go to the Data Views management page using the navigation menu or the global search field.
- Find the data view that you want to delete, then select
in the Actions column.
The data view and its saved settings are removed from the Data Views page.