Delete an orchestrated deployment
Elastic Cloud Serverless projects are autoscaled environments, fully managed by Elastic and available on Elastic Cloud. Availability This functionality is generally available and ready for production usage. Serverless interfaces and procedures might differ from classic Elastic Stack deployments. Elastic Cloud Hosted lets you manage and configure one or more deployments of the versioned Elastic Stack, hosted on Elastic Cloud. Availability This functionality is generally available and ready for production usage. Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes extends Kubernetes orchestration capabilities to allow you to deploy and manage components of the Elastic Stack. Availability This functionality is generally available and ready for production usage. This documentation corresponds to the latest patch available for each minor version. If you're not using the latest patch, check the release notes for changes. Elastic Cloud Enterprise is a self-managed orchestration platform for deploying and managing the Elastic Stack at scale. Availability This functionality is generally available and ready for production usage. This documentation corresponds to the latest patch available for each minor version. If you're not using the latest patch, check the release notes for changes.
Serverless
Generally available
ECH
Generally available
ECK
Generally available
ECE
Generally available
This page provides instructions for deleting several types of cloud deployments, and outlines key considerations before proceeding.
To delete an Elastic Cloud Hosted deployment:
- Log in to the Elastic Cloud Console.
- On the deployment overview page, select Actions, then select Delete deployment and confirm the deletion.
When you delete your deployment, billing stops immediately, rounding up to the nearest hour.
When deployments are deleted, we erase all data on disk, including snapshots. Snapshots are retained for very a limited amount of time post deletion and we cannot guarantee that deleted deployments can be restored from snapshots for this reason. If you accidentally delete a deployment, contact support as soon as possible to increase the likelihood of restoring your deployment.
If you want to keep the snapshot for future purposes even after the deployment deletion, you should use a custom snapshot repository.
You can't delete a project that's linked to a cross-project search (CPS) origin project. To delete a linked project, first unlink it from every origin project it's connected to, then delete it.
To delete an Elastic Cloud Serverless project:
- Log in to the Elastic Cloud Console.
- Find your project on the home page in the Serverless Projects card and select Manage to access it directly. Or, select Serverless Projects to go to the projects page to view all of your projects.
- Select Actions, then select Delete project and confirm the deletion.
All data is lost. Billing for usage is by the hour and any outstanding charges for usage before you deleted the project will still appear on your next bill.
To delete an Elastic Cloud Enterprise deployment:
On the Deployments page, select your deployment.
Narrow the list by name, ID, or choose from several other filters. To further define the list, use a combination of filters.
From the Actions menu, terminate the deployment.
From the Actions menu, select Delete deployment and follow the steps to delete the deployment permanently.
Deleting a deployment cannot be undone.
Terminating a deployment stops all running instances and deletes all data. Only configuration information is saved so that you can restore the deployment in the future. If there is a snapshot repository associated with the Elasticsearch cluster and at least one snapshot has been taken, you can restore the cluster with the same indices later.
To terminate an Elastic Cloud Enterprise deployment,
On the Deployments page, select your deployment.
Narrow the list by name, ID, or choose from several other filters. To further define the list, use a combination of filters.
From the Actions menu, select Terminate deployment.
You can restore a deployment that was previously terminated to its original configuration. Note that the data that was in the deployment is not restored, since it is deleted as part of the termination process. If you have a snapshot, you can restore it to recover the Elasticsearch indices.
To restore a terminated deployment,
- Log into the Cloud UI.
- On the Deployments page, select your deployment. Narrow the list by name, ID, or choose from several other filters. To further define the list, use a combination of filters.
- From the Actions menu, select Restore deployment and then acknowledge the confirmation message.
To delete a deployment managed by Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes, remove the corresponding Elasticsearch, Kibana, and any other related custom resources from your Kubernetes cluster. This action deletes all associated pods and their persistent data.
To delete an Elasticsearch cluster created with Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes:
Run the following command to delete the Elasticsearch custom resource:
Shell kubectl delete elasticsearch <elasticsearch-resource-name>For example:
Shell kubectl delete elasticsearch test-deploymentWarningThis deletes the custom resource and all associated resources, such as Elasticsearch nodes, services, and persistent data volumes. By default, this also deletes the data stored in those volumes, but you can configure the
volumeClaimDeletePolicyfield in the Elasticsearch resource manifest to retain the volumes if you plan to recreate the cluster later.If you also deployed Kibana or other stack components, delete those resources as well:
Shell kubectl delete kibana <kibana-resource-name>
To fully uninstall Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes from your cluster including all managed resources and the ECK operator, refer to the Uninstall Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes guide.